What Wells Fargo's 2027 Pay Plan Changes for Advisors
Wells Fargo Advisors raised its core pay hurdle for the first time in five years, added a step in deferred pay for growing practices and widened its deposit incentives. Which advisors the changes reach, how the arithmetic works, and the numbers to check in your own book before January.
Filed by Tyler Noe

The short answer: Wells Fargo's 2027 plan lifts the monthly line at which an advisor's pay rate steps from 22% to 50%, from $13,500 to $16,000, the first change in five years. It pairs that with a step in deferred pay for growing practices and new incentives on deposits. On core pay alone, the change is the same dollar amount for an advisor paid the standard rates above the line, so it is a larger share of pay for smaller practices, and advisors and teams above $2 million in combined revenue are paid a flat 50% and are not reached. How the whole plan nets out for any one practice depends on its book of business.
Wells Fargo's plan for 2027 surfaced on October 29, when AdvisorHub reported its details. It is the fourth of the four wirehouse plans to be reported this fall, after Morgan Stanley, UBS and Merrill. A company presentation cited by AdvisorHub put the rise in average annual revenue per advisor at its Private Client Group at 57% since the hurdle last moved in 2022, which is the context for moving it now.
Wells Fargo's 2027 plan at a glance
| What | 2026 | 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| Core pay hurdle (monthly revenue) | $13,500, unchanged since 2022 | $16,000 |
| Pay rate up to the hurdle, and above it | 22% and 50% | 22% and 50% |
| Advisors and teams above $2 million in combined revenue | Not reported | Flat 50%, skipping the hurdle |
| Deferred pay rate | Not reported | 6% to 11% for growing practices, with one added point for net positive growth; up to 8% for shrinking practices, with two points off for net negative growth |
| Eligibility for deferred pay | Not reported | Production of $714,000 or more |
| Deposit incentives | Bonus on new checking accounts; lending bonus; full pay on next-generation accounts under $250,000 | Deposit growth award added to deferred pay; business accounts count toward the checking-account bonus, which pays 15 to 25 basis points on the prior month's average daily balance |
Figures as reported by AdvisorHub on October 29, 2026. Compensation for managers is to follow around Thanksgiving, and for the independent Financial Network channel at a later date.
Who the hurdle reaches
Wells Fargo Advisors is the one wirehouse that builds its pay around a monthly line and not a revenue grid, so the change reads differently from the other three plans. An advisor is paid 22% on revenue up to the line and 50% on everything above it. Moving the line from $13,500 to $16,000 sends $2,500 more of each month's revenue through the lower rate.
On core pay alone, that is the same amount for an advisor paid the standard rates above the new line, about $700 a month and $8,400 a year in cash payout, which matches the example AdvisorHub gave for a $1 million producer. Because the dollar amount does not change with production, its weight does: on the rates as reported, it is about 4% of core pay for a practice producing $500,000 and about 2% at $1 million. This arithmetic leaves out deferred pay and every bonus, which is where the rest of the plan sits. Earlier Wells Fargo plans also paid lower rates, 15% and 30%, to advisors with eight or more years producing under $330,000; the 2027 coverage does not say how that tier applies, so it is left out of this arithmetic. What a threshold change costs at different production levels is the same logic applied to a grid.
Advisors and teams with more than $2 million in combined revenue skip the hurdle and are paid a flat 50%, so the change does not reach them.
Where the plan adds
Growth in deferred pay
The plan ties a step in deferred pay to the direction of the practice. A growing practice earns a rate between 6% and 11%, with one added percentage point for net positive growth. A practice that is shrinking tops out at 8%, and net negative growth takes two points off the rate. AdvisorHub's example was a $2 million producer at a 50% pay rate with 8.5% in deferred pay. Wells Fargo Advisors' head told AdvisorHub that most advisors are growing and that every advisor should be able to earn the extra point.
For a practice that is steady, with assets holding and little new money coming in, the question is which side of the line that sits on. Practices producing under $714,000 are not eligible for deferred pay at all, so the step does not apply to them.
Deposits and lending
The 2026 plan added a bonus on new checking accounts and full pay on next-generation accounts below $250,000. The 2027 plan builds on the same direction. A deposit growth award now sits beside the lending bonus in deferred pay, and business accounts count toward the checking-account bonus. A practice whose clients already keep checking balances and brokered deposits at the bank has more ways to earn than one whose clients do not. The reporting does not put a dollar figure on the awards, so what they add depends on the practice.
What to check in your own book
- Your monthly revenue against $16,000, and against $2 million for the year. Know which side of each line you sit on, because the flat 50% changes the arithmetic completely.
- Your direction. Whether your practice grew net of outflows this year decides which end of the 6% to 11% range, and which one-point step, applies to you.
- Your deposits, checking and lending. Set this year's balances against the new award and the expanded bonus.
- What is deferred and what vests when. Know what you would leave behind if you moved. What an award, an agreement or deferred pay allows in your case is a question for your own attorney.
A grid read the way a recruiter reads it, as a bid for a particular kind of advisor, is laid out in how to read your compensation grid. What a $1 million practice keeps sets the same numbers beside other firms.
If you want to price the alternatives
Some advisors set their own plan beside what the market would pay once a year, and doing so commits no one to anything. In the deals we work on, wirehouse recruiting packages run closer to 400% of trailing-12 revenue, depending on your book of business, on notes that typically run 7 to 10 years and longer for the largest packages, while regional firms usually write roughly 300% to 400%, with some paying more, depending on the practice. At an independent broker-dealer, a headline payout can reach 95% and above and nets in the 80s after the broker-dealer's own charges and before the practice's overhead, with what the advisor keeps depending on the broker-dealer, the business mix and advisory size, and transition assistance runs 100% to 150% and above for the right teams, depending on your book of business. An independent RIA keeps the advisory revenue, less platform and RIA costs.
Many advisors make this comparison each fall and stay, which is a sound result. None of these figures is a standard rate, and each depends on the advisor and the book. The specific answer comes from a conversation, kept confidential from the start: the best deal Winthrop & Co. can win for your practice through its relationships and its record of past deals, and the differences between firms that no table shows, such as culture, technology, support and service. Request an introduction.
Frequently asked
What changed in Wells Fargo's 2027 compensation plan?
Did Wells Fargo raise its payout grid for 2027?
How much does the higher hurdle change an advisor's pay?
How does the deferred compensation change work?
What are the new deposit and checking incentives?
Is Wells Fargo the only wirehouse built on a monthly hurdle?
Should I leave Wells Fargo because of the 2027 comp plan?
Filed
October 29, 2026