READ NOWH1 2026, State of Advisor Movement

Winthrop & Co.
Market Insights
GuideFiled September 29, 20267 min read

How J.P. Morgan Advisors Are Paid: The Grid, the Salaried Chase Channel, and What Is Deferred

J.P. Morgan pays its advisors three different ways. Its J.P. Morgan Securities financial advisors work on a grid that generally pays 40% to 50% of revenue, topping out at 52%. Its branch-based wealth advisors get a guaranteed monthly minimum salary plus a grid of about 22% to 35%. Remote consultants and Private Bank staff are salaried with incentive pay. The grid, the $100,000 small-account rule, awards, deferred equity and posted base salaries, from the firm's own disclosures.

Filed by Tyler Noe

GuideHow J.P. Morgan Advisors Are Paid: Grid, Salary and Awards (2026)

The short answer: J.P. Morgan pays its advisors in three different ways, depending on the channel. J.P. Morgan Securities financial advisors are paid on a revenue grid that the firm says generally runs 40% to 50%, with a reported top rate of 52%. Branch-based advisors, as the firm's investment services disclosure describes them, receive a guaranteed monthly minimum salary plus an incentive payout on a grid that generally runs 22% to 35% of monthly revenue. Remote consultants and Private Bank staff are paid a base salary plus incentive compensation. In its wrap fee program the advisor is paid nothing on accounts where the client has under $100,000 at the firm, and much of the upside across the channels comes as restricted stock that can be forfeited.

Most of what follows comes from J.P. Morgan's own disclosures: its compensation-and-conflicts pages, its Form CRS and its wrap fee brochure, filed with the SEC. The grid history comes from trade-press reporting on the annual plans.

Three ways J.P. Morgan pays advisors

ChannelHow advisors are paidSource
J.P. Morgan Securities financial advisors (J.P. Morgan Advisors)Share of revenue, generally 40% to 50% for most advisors; growth award in RSUs; joining and retention incentivesJ.P. Morgan compensation disclosure
Branch-based advisors (investment services)Guaranteed monthly minimum salary, plus an incentive payout when grid earnings exceed it; grid generally 22% to 35% of monthly revenue; net new money award; a draw may be availableJ.P. Morgan compensation disclosure
Chase Private Client AdvisorsBase salary plus incentive under the Private Client Advisor Incentive Compensation PlanChase careers
National Branch Financial Consultants (remote)Annual base salary plus an annual discretionary incentiveJ.P. Morgan compensation disclosure
Private BankBase salary plus commission and/or discretionary incentive, paid in cash and/or forfeitable equityJPMorganChase job postings

J.P. Morgan's Form CRS sums up the split: some financial professionals are paid a monthly minimum salary plus a share of commissions and advisory fees, with possible bonuses for revenue or asset targets, and others are paid an annual salary plus a cash bonus that is not tied to trading or advisory assets.

The grid for J.P. Morgan Securities advisors

J.P. Morgan says the payout for most of its J.P. Morgan Securities financial advisors is generally 40% to 50% of the revenue attributable to them. The full grid is not published; the changes below come from AdvisorHub's reporting on each plan.

PlanWhat changed
2020Five grids consolidated into one; minimum trade credit cut from $75 to $25, ahead of Regulation Best Interest
2022Grid moved to trailing-12-month revenue instead of resetting each year; top rate lifted above 50% from about 47%; flows, loyalty and team awards paid in RSUs; a client succession program added
2024Grid hurdles raised for advisors producing under $2 million; maximum payout 52%; asset growth award widened to include money market funds and Treasuries
2026Pay reduced when an advisor discounts the advisory fee beyond a set percentage, for discounts made after April 1, 2026
2027Not reported as of September 29, 2026

On top of the grid, J.P. Morgan pays a growth award in restricted stock units worth 1% to 4% of revenue to advisors with at least four years of service whose revenue grows at least 5% year over year.

The branch model: a salary floor and a smaller grid

J.P. Morgan's disclosure for its investment services advisors describes a different design. Advisors receive a guaranteed monthly minimum salary and an incentive payout if their grid earnings exceed it. The grid rate is based on monthly revenue and generally ranges from 22% to 35%. A net new money award averages 0.11% to 0.175% of net new money a year and makes up about 5% of total advisor pay on average, and advisors may be eligible for a non-cumulative draw, an advance against incentive pay.

Chase describes its Private Client Advisor role the same way in outline: base salary plus incentive under the Private Client Advisor Incentive Compensation Plan, with client referrals coming from branch bankers. Base pay is posted in job listings and varies by market:

RoleLocationPosted basePosted
Private Client AdvisorChicago, IL$47,520September 25, 2026
Private Client AdvisorBoston, MA$47,520September 16, 2026
Private Client AdvisorCentennial, CO$57,840September 16, 2026
Private Client AdvisorLindenhurst, NY$66,360September 17, 2026
Investments Direct Financial AdvisorChicago, IL$64,600 to $90,000September 25, 2026

The postings list a single base figure for the Private Client Advisor role, and incentive pay is added on top. The difference from the J.P. Morgan Securities model is the trade: a salary floor and bank referrals in exchange for a much lower share of the revenue.

Small accounts and fee discounts

Two rules in J.P. Morgan's wrap fee brochure, dated June 26, 2026, shape what an advisor actually earns:

  • No pay under $100,000. No compensation is paid to the advisor for accounts where the client's total assets invested through the firm, counting brokerage, managed accounts and annuities, are under $100,000. Those accounts are generally assigned to a team of salaried advisors.
  • Discounts cost the advisor. Discounts to the advisory fee that are more than a certain percentage below the stated schedule, made after April 1, 2026, affect the advisor's compensation.

Merrill runs a comparable small-household rule at a higher threshold; the Merrill Lynch payout grid sets out its terms.

Equity, loans and what is forfeited

A meaningful share of J.P. Morgan advisor pay comes in forms that depend on staying:

  • The growth award is paid in restricted stock units.
  • Advisors may receive incentives to join or remain at the firm, which J.P. Morgan says can take the form of an up-front loan, an annual cash payment, restricted stock units and performance awards.
  • Current job postings describe incentive compensation as paid in cash and/or forfeitable equity.
  • When J.P. Morgan took on First Republic's advisors in 2023, AdvisorHub reported retention loans for advisors above $2.5 million in revenue, forgiven over 10 to 12 years.

Unvested equity and unforgiven loans are the pay an advisor leaves behind or repays on departure. What happens to deferred compensation when you leave covers how that is valued and negotiated, and does J.P. Morgan sue advisors who leave covers the firm's record with departing advisors and its limited Broker Protocol coverage, which in 2021 extended only to J.P. Morgan Advisors, not to the Chase wealth or Private Bank channels.

How many advisors J.P. Morgan has

Unit, end of Q2 2026Client advisorsA year earlier
Consumer & Community Banking wealth (Chase branch and remote channels)6,3295,948
Global Private Bank4,1193,756
Firmwide Wealth Management10,4489,704

Firmwide wealth management client assets were $4.88 trillion. The CCB business told investors in 2025 that its advisor base had grown 37% since 2019 and that it planned to keep growing. J.P. Morgan Advisors, the grid-paid unit, is much smaller: AdvisorHub put it at about 650 advisors after the First Republic deal.

The training path

J.P. Morgan's Financial Advisor Development Program is the firm's route into an advisor seat. A September 2026 posting described a 21-month program that takes participants from investment professional to financial advisor through the SIE, Series 7 and Series 66, with graduates joining the national branch, the firm's remote advice channel. A nine-week summer version is offered to students.

Where 2027 stands

J.P. Morgan had not reported a 2027 plan as of September 29, 2026. Morgan Stanley raised every grid threshold by 10% for 2027 and UBS kept its core grid unchanged; what happens when your firm raises the payout grid covers both. JPMorganChase's next investor day is scheduled for February 22, 2027.

J.P. Morgan advisors who want their grid or salary model priced against what another firm would pay, confidentially and with the forfeitable equity counted, are welcome to request an introduction.

Sources (15)

Frequently asked

How do J.P. Morgan financial advisors get paid?
It depends on the channel. J.P. Morgan Securities financial advisors are paid a share of the revenue they generate, generally 40% to 50% for most advisors. Branch-based advisors receive a guaranteed monthly minimum salary and an incentive payout when their grid earnings exceed it, at a grid rate of generally 22% to 35% of monthly revenue. National Branch Financial Consultants and Private Bank staff are paid a base salary plus incentive compensation.
What is the J.P. Morgan advisor payout grid?
J.P. Morgan does not publish the full grid. Its disclosure says the payout for most J.P. Morgan Securities financial advisors is generally 40% to 50% of revenue. AdvisorHub reported that the 2024 plan raised grid hurdles for advisors producing under $2 million and set the maximum payout at 52%, and that the 2022 plan moved to a grid based on trailing-12-month revenue.
Do Chase Private Client Advisors get a salary or commission?
Both. Chase describes the Private Client Advisor role as paid a base salary plus incentive compensation under the Private Client Advisor Incentive Compensation Plan. J.P. Morgan's compensation disclosure describes its branch-based advisors as receiving a guaranteed monthly minimum salary and an incentive payout when grid earnings exceed it.
What is the base salary for a J.P. Morgan Private Client Advisor?
Postings on the JPMorganChase careers site in September 2026 listed a single base figure for Private Client Advisor roles that varied by market: $47,520 in Chicago and Boston, $57,840 in the Denver area and $66,360 on Long Island, New York. Incentive pay comes on top of the base.
Does J.P. Morgan pay advisors on small accounts?
Not on the smallest. J.P. Morgan's wrap fee brochure says no compensation is paid to the advisor for accounts where the client's total assets invested through the firm, including brokerage, managed accounts and annuities, are under $100,000. Those accounts are generally assigned to a team of salaried advisors.
How many advisors does J.P. Morgan have?
JPMorganChase reported 10,448 client advisors across its firmwide wealth management business at the end of the second quarter of 2026: 6,329 in Consumer & Community Banking, the Chase branch and remote channels, and 4,119 in the Global Private Bank. The CCB figure was up 6% from a year earlier.
What is the J.P. Morgan Financial Advisor Development Program?
It is J.P. Morgan's training path into an advisor seat. A 2026 posting described a 21-month program taking participants from investment professional to financial advisor through the SIE, Series 7 and Series 66, with graduates joining the national branch, the firm's remote advice channel. A nine-week summer version is offered for students.
Has J.P. Morgan announced a 2027 advisor compensation plan?
Not as of September 29, 2026. Morgan Stanley and UBS have announced their 2027 plans. JPMorganChase has scheduled its next investor day for February 22, 2027.

Filed

September 29, 2026

More from Market Insights